I Love Bookstores!

Yes, it’s true. I LOVE bookstores. I especially love bookstores that have some sort of food/beverage option available. I’m hanging out at Vios Cafe here in the Ravenna neighborhood of Seattle. It is attached to Third Place Books. This is a great place to get new and used books, they have a totally awesome vibe, and they often have book signings. Last time I was here, I picked up a copy of John Perkins’ “Hoodwinked”, an eye opening exposé of the corporatocracy.

What is a “Third Place”? To quote their site:

Sociologist Ray Oldenberg suggests that each of us needs three places: first is the home; second is the workplace or school; and beyond lies the place where people from all walks of life interact, experiencing and celebrating their commonality as well as their diversity. It is a third place. In his celebrated book, The Great Good Place, Oldenberg discusses how the cafes, pubs, town squares and other gathering places make a community stronger and bring people together. 

I should qualify my opening remarks. I LOVE the small independent bookstores, not the large chains. It’s hard to find them these days, and it’s sort of ironic that the big chain, Barnes & Nobles, is now struggling thanks to Amazon.com. It is my hope that the small bookstores that have survived will continue to survive, especially if they become a “third place”.

There are two Third Place locations. The other is in Lake Forest Park, a suburb northeast and adjacent to Seattle. They have a five-restaurant food court, no less. And did I mention that the Ravenna location also has a pub cozily nestled beneath the cafe?

What about you? Do you have a favorite bookstore? Tell me about it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

