30 Years!!

Yesterday was our 30th wedding anniversary. 30 years and a day ago I sang Merrilyn Anne Kunz down the aisle at Mt. Olive Lutheran church in the Crown Hill neighborhood of Seattle. I mentioned to her this morning that I will probably blog about our anniversary and I could tell that she was sort of embarrassed about the idea, so I will resist the temptation to gush. I’ll keep this short.

30 years is pretty amazing. We have been through a lot, a lot of good times and a few not so good times. Underneath it all we have never stopped being best friends. The trials we have been through have made us stronger, both individually and as a couple. I have such profound admiration and respect for Merrilyn. She is doing that which connects with her passion: working with at-risk and special-needs children. And she just shines!  She is currently working on her masters degree. I learn so much vicariously through her. I am blessed. She has taught me the meaning of compassion and empathy. (Okay I’ll stop.)

Here’s a couple photos, one from our wedding and the other from a few nights ago at the Seattle Sounders season opener.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “30 Years!!

  1. mlshiira

    As beautiful now as you both were then :) Congrats!!

Leave a Reply

