My New Project: A Garden!

We have this little alley on the south side of our house that currently serves as 1) a way to get the backyard from the front yard 2) a place to put the lawnmower, and 3) a place to put spare lumber. Other than those spectacular features, it doesn’t have much going for it. Except this: It gets a lot of sun in the summer. I was tempted to put the word sun in quotes. This is, after all, the Pacific Northwest, which is notorious for its rainfall, exacerbated by the current La Nina pattern. Because we live midway between the Puget Sound and the Cascade foothills, we get even less sun than Seattle. So today, for example, it started out sunny, but high clouds have already moved in to mitigate the free flow of rays, while Seattle is still sunny. Okay, I’ll stop complaining.

This year I am going to take advantage of some of that “sun” and build some raised beds in the strip between the alley sidewalk and the house and plant all sorts of vegetables and maybe some razzles. Makes me think of that song by the Beach Boys, “Vega-tables”.  I went down to Molbaks and picked up a nifty book called “Backyard Bounty, The Complete Guide to Year-Round Organic Gardening in the Pacific Northwest”. It tells me everything I need to know to start a garden and keep it going. I have never done this before, so I hope the book is good.

Here is what our alley way currently looks like. So we can call this our official “before” picture. I will be blogging about this project, of course, with lots of pictures. So, away we go!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

