Music PR in 3-Months: 1 Week In

I am now one week into my Cyber PR campaign. (If you’d like the backstory, read my post last week here.) So, how is it going? A better question perhaps would be, what is happening? What is supposed to happen? Here’s the publicity workflow in a nutshell:

  1. CyberPR searches for media resources that may have interest in the type of music I do. These resources include blogs, podcasts, eMagazines, etc. They send them a VPK (virtual press kit).
  2. When a resource is interested, they interact with the VPK on Cyber PR’s site
  3. Eventually (hopefully) the resource will feature the music on their website by posting a review or including it in a music podcast
  4. I can build on the buzz by referencing the feature placements in my social media. The whole idea is to get buzz (i.e. “press”) that will intrigue people to check out my music

So far, the Cyber PR folks have reached out to about a dozen resources, fitting into the following categories: 4 blogs/audio blogs, 5 podcasts/internet radio stations, 2 general websites, and 1 newspaper. Here is a partial list: Blissology (yoga), DailyOM (yoga), It’s Your Health Network (radio), Outsight (indie radio), Erk FM & Insomnia Radio, Paranormal Ghost Stories, Lobstercast (comedy), Gaming Girls Want (gamers).

I am not sure of the relevance of some of these choices. Nonetheless, I am working on engaging with these folks through a combination of  commenting on blog posts and twitter interactions (mentions, retweets, and direct messages). The point of such engagement is to differentiate myself from the pack of people who may have VPKs (or other solicitations) sent on their behalf and do not interact at all. After a few days of rubbing cyber elbows, my next task is to contact them directly and ask if they would check out my VPK. I am not sure how much elbow rubbing is required, we’ll see.

I am rediscovering the value of Twitter, and I have been interacting with people, following them, them following me. I have discovered the importance of Twitter lists and have put all the resources in a list so I can scan what people are up to.

Well, that’s about it for now. As things heat up, I will be blogging about them.

Here’s what my CyberPR dashboard looks like for the resources that are added daily:

Leave a comment

Filed under Music PR in 3-Months

Leave a Reply

