Music PR in 3-Months: Day 1

I am quite excited to say: And so it begins!! For those of you who have been tuning in for awhile, I entered a blogging contest (way) back in the summer of 2010, blogging about my experiences working through the book Music Success in 9 Weeks by Ariel Hyatt. Ariel (pronounced like the initials “R.E.L.”) has a publicity firm called ArielPublicity which specializes in internet-based public relations. Her brand name is “CyberPR” and you can check it out here.

Anyway, as you may know, I won the first wave of three blogging contests her firm held. And the prize? A complimentary 3-month Cyber PR campaign. SWEET!! What does one get in a Cyber PR campaign? To quote their site “a Cyber PR campaign:

  • Gets you prominently featured on blogs, podcasts, & iRadio worldwide
  • Supercharges you Facebook, Twitter, & social media profiles
  • Creates a virtual cornerstone upon which to build future success”

I wanted to wait until I had my new CD finished before I “launched”; however, once I started the intake process, I realized I wanted a professional bio written. I will share the bio in a subsequent post. With that finally done, we are now officially launched!

I have a lot to learn and a lot to do. This is not something where they just run off and do their thing on my behalf. They are connecting me with various handpicked internet media “resources” (blogs, podcasts, and internet radio stations) by reaching out to them with my virtual press kit (VPK). It is my responsibility to cultivate a relationship with these resources now that the doorbell has been rung, so to speak. This initially can be as simple as a Twitter Follow or Facebook Like or blog subscription. Then it will move on to more direct messaging. I will be blogging about my progress.

Well that’s enough blog blabber for one day. I have some resources to connect with.

1 Comment

Filed under Music PR in 3-Months

One response to “Music PR in 3-Months: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Music PR in 3-Months: 1 Week In | This Kelly Carpenter

Leave a Reply

