I Still Want You to Know About My New CD

The title of this blog post says it all. My latest CD “Passage” is available from a variety of outlets–links below. Here is a video of the first few minutes of my cover of “Whom Have I But You?” by David Ruis. I have always loved this song and have performed it many times. Early on, I added my own hook to the “B” section which later became the basis for the “Distant Shore” theme on my CD. I also added an instrumental bridge.

I just love the way this recording turned out. What you’re missing from this edit is an additional three minutes of us jamming on the Em, D/F#, G progression that then transitions into the following piece. The jams at the end of a lot these songs is where a lot of  music magic takes place.

Playing on this song are: Scott A. Burnett/acoustic guitar, Brian Thiessen/electric guitar, Darcy White/bass, Calum Rees/drums, Erika Kobewka/violin. I played the Yamaha C7 grand piano up in Vancouver, and then re-recorded the piano for the first part of the song here at Avondale, playing my Fandrich & Sons piano. I did all of the pre-production sequencing using Ableton Live and then brought it into ProTools along with the session tracks for post-production. Erika recorded her violin from her home in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. Tom Hall mixed it.

“Passage” can be found at any of the following links:

  • My Website kellycarpentermusic.com – both physical CD and downloads
  • CDBaby – both physical CD and downloads
  • iTunes – downloads
  • Amazon – both available, although they want a lot for a physical CD
I was browsing around Amazon looking at what they have for my stuff and I found it quite amusing about their various retail partners. I will have to do a blog post about it.
Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Music Career, Vol. 2 Project

Leave a Reply

