Mood and energy

I admit this will sound a bit like whining, especially in light of the extreme temperatures in the rest of the country, but the summer here in the Pacific Northwest has been downright dreadful. I have lived up here for most of the past 30 years and I don’t remember a year that has had such little sunshine. When August came around, we finally started getting some sun and it seemed that hope had returned. It was short lived. After a few days of awesome weather, things returned to the way they have been the rest of the summer: mostly cloudy or overcast with fleeting sun breaks late in the afternoon. Depressing.

I am someone who depends on sun for mood and the winters here are very difficult to get through, not only because of the bad weather but also because of the short days. So when late spring and summer rolls around, it is essential for the sun to make an appearance. This year is the worst on record and I have been Mr. Grouchy Pants and Sir Buzz Kill lately.

What seems to pull me out of the mood dungeon is walking. There is a trail nearby and I am finding that a 45 to 60 minute walk a day is the only thing that gets me out of my doldrums. I just had the Today show on (a morning ritual) and a lady from Prevention magazine shared some other things that help with mood and energy. You can read the full article from the magazine here, but here is a partial list:

  • People who have a hi-fiber breakfast will experience a 10% reduction in fatigue
  • Keep the caffeine drinks small. Better to have a few small caffeine drinks throughout the day rather than a huge one. Better to drink tea, although I still need my coffee first thing in the morning, (it is a another  one of my rituals).
  • Drink plenty of water – When I don’t get enough, I notice that I get a lethargic light-headed feeling that I mistake for hunger at first, but I now recognize as dehydration.
  • Listen to music while you work. It boosts energy and productivity.
  • Creativity is boosted by having flowers nearby. I also have read that lavender has a calming effect.
I am going to try the flowers thing today after I take my morning walk and cut a few flowers from the neighbor’s yard. (Just kidding.)
2 Comments

Filed under Health, Life

2 responses to “Mood and energy

  1. The sun is shining NOW, Kelly. Get out there while it lasts.

    • Yeah, I know. Been working in the yard a little today. I put out a disclaimer on Facebook about the irony of this post considering the weather of the last couple of days. I actually wrote the post on Monday when it was quite gloomy. But this is more about non-sun-related mood and energy strategies as I’m sure you have surmised. :-)

Leave a Reply

