My 25-Minute Life

Like many people I know, I have attention/focus issues*, so it’s easy to get overwhelmed. To combat this, I do two things. First, I make a list of what I want to get accomplished, and then I break my work up into 25-minute chunks. This 25-minute method is called the “Pomodoro Technique” and it is very helpful. When I start working on something, I start the timer, and when 25 minutes are up, I stop, take a break, walk around, get some coffee, whatever. And then I work for another 25 minutes, and so on. What’s nice about this is that it gives the brain and body a chance to reset, which makes it less likely that I will feel burned out.

I read recently that attention/focus issues (or ADD) are a sign that the Prefrontal Cortex (PFC) area of the brain is underperforming. Here are a few things that are helpful to boost PFC function:

  • Get at least seven hours of sleep
  • Eat smaller meals more often to maintain a healthy blood sugar level — I’ll grab a snack or meal after every four to five Pomordoros
  • Get regular exercise
  • Write down your goals
  • Practice meditation. I’ll blog more about this in a subsequent post, but I literally visualize energy increasing in my PFC, especially in the right side of my brain.
2 Comments

Filed under Life, Work

2 responses to “My 25-Minute Life

  1. Very helpful thought today Kelly.

  2. Tonepoet

    If you’re interested in mediation the Buddhist practice of Samatha meditation since it’s dedicated towards the goal of building focus. It’s a bit difficult but starting in small steps and building your way up gradually would be key. I’d recommend checking out the Luminous Mind by Kalu Rimpoche if you want to take the Tibetan approach, since it has a chapter dedicated to the subject and is generally an easy to read, relatively comprehensive book on Tibetan Buddhist precepts. It’s a very thought provoking piece.

    Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

