To Skippy or Not to Skippy

I’ve been trying to watch what I eat lately, as well as eat LESS. I just saw my niece and family the other day–up from Cali to visit my parents. (By the way, I hate it when people say “Cali”. I just did it to make myself wince, thinking perhaps that would burn an extra calorie or two.) Anyway, I hadn’t seen them in almost two years and my niece’s husband had lost 90 lbs. He looks so trim and fit now that I didn’t recognize him. I am both envious and inspired. If he can lose 90 lbs. then certainly I can lose the 25 that has been my constant companion for the past 15+ years!

So, I am making all sorts of little choices that I hope will add up to form my lifestyle change. (The term diet is SO 20th century.) Case in point: peanut butter. Here are the front and back labels of the ubiquitous Skippy alongside Trader Joe’s brand:

Due to the less than stellar photo taken by my cell phone, here are the ingredients and nutritional info:

Skippy: Roasted peanuts, sugar, hydrogenated vegetable oils (cottonseed, soybean, and rapeseed), salt. Sat fat: 3g, sugar: 3g, fiber: 2g, protein: 7g

TJ’s: Dry roasted peanuts, salt. Sat fat: 2g, sugar: 1g, fiber: 3g, protein: 8g, and it contains magnesium.

About Skippy. Until recently, Skippy had “Zero Trans Fats” on its front label. They must have taken a lot of flack from somebody due to the hydrogenated oils (which are trans fats). These are what gives Skippy its creamy, no need to stir, quality. The inclusion of rapeseed oil in particular concerns me. (I will write a separate blog about that.) Rapeseed oil was originally used as a lubricant in diesel engines for trains. What is it doing in our peanut butter?

Lately, I fill the half-pipe of celery with a couple of teaspoons of TJ’s peanut butter for a mid-day snack. Delicious!

Personally, I choose NOT to Skippy, although I’ve heard that choosy mothers choose Jif.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Whatever

2 responses to “To Skippy or Not to Skippy

  1. Lora

    I can’t understand why ANYone ANYwhere eats Skippy OR Jif! Peanut butter should have no more than two ingredients: peanuts and salt. And so I affirm your decision, this kelly carpenter.

    • I have been eating the natural stuff for the past year and I understand why people would rather eat Skippy. First, it’s way easier to spread on a piece of bread, so if you’re trying to slap together a PB&J for someone’s lunch, it’s not so easy with natural PB that’s kept in the fridge. I do the celery and PB thing, so I appreciate the stiffness of the real stuff. Second reason people prefer Skippy is the sugar.

Leave a Reply

