Brain

Several months ago I responded to one of those public television fund raising drives. Never done that before. The featured content was Dr. Daniel Amen presenting information from his latest book, “Change Your Brain, Change Your Body”. Think of Dr. Amen as the Dr. Oz of neuroscience. Merrilyn and I are gaining interest in the brain and in neuroscience, so this sort of thing gets our attention.

I started reading the book after putting it off for these many months, as I already had a pretty good idea what to find in its pages. Yep, I need to make some major changes in my nutrition and lifestyle if I am going to get healthier, and I SO need to improve my health. What is intriguing is the author’s assertion that our inability to change behavior, and consequently improve our self care, is not necessarily a willpower issue, but a brain chemistry/activity issue. I am starting to suspect that I have diminished activity in my Pre-Frontal Cortex (or PFC), the part of the brain that is responsible for attention, planning, and followthrough. Hey, I have ADD, so this sort of makes sense.

I have only read the first few chapters. I am sure to have more to share. Later…

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

