Am I The Only One Feeling Overwhelmed?

It’s Saturday and I pretty much have the day and evening to myself today. Merrilyn (my wife) has a class today, then has to do some work work, then off to a Seattle Sounders game–she has season tickets. So, not one to lollygag around–the spell checker is having difficulty with lollygag, does anyone know the correct spelling?–I have made a list of what I want to get accomplished today.

This is where I usually get myself in trouble. I just counted the to-do items on my list: 30.

It’s 11:33 AM. There is no way I’m going to get all these done. Obviously. Some of them are yard-work items, some work work items. These I would at least like to chip away at and make a little progress. Oops, I forgot to include walking the dog.

I have a little system where I keep all of my to-do’s in a journal. That along with phone call and meeting notes, or brainstorming ideas. The running to-do method is great because I don’t have to list everything every day;  I can go back to items from previous days and check them off. Things that are left undone for too long (can you say “procrastination”?), I eventually copy to a more current list to remind (shame) me.

Reality check: This is more a week’s worth of to-do’s than a day’s. I know this. I also have to remind myself that I have a chronic hand injury that acts up if I over do it.

I read somewhere that, according to some experts, people should only expect to get about six things accomplished in a day.

I guess I should feel relieved. But it still leaves me overwhelmed. Just sayin’.

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Am I The Only One Feeling Overwhelmed?

  1. I hear ya!

    My to do’s have become a massive stack of notes on my desk!

    However, every single one I achieve and cross off my stack takes the edge off the overwhelming sensation.

    Keep scratching them off one at a time, if only 1 or 2 a day. I always make sure at least one task a day is one that will help me come closer to achieving a dream goal. You have to start each day with one of those!

    Then cut the lawn, walk the dog, clean the house, bla, bla, bla…

    Just finished my music (goal) tasks today! (yipeee) and now it’s time to reno my bathroom! Yuck

    All the best!
    John Gilliat

    John Gilliat – Sensational new music to help you feel great!

Leave a Reply

