ASCAP Trip Recap

Sheesh, I was congratulating myself over blogging every day about the ASCAP Expo, but I had to split a day early to attend my nephew’s wedding in Tucson, so I was running out of time. By the way, if you ever have to take an early flight out of Burbank airport, the rental car counters don’t open until 6, good luck finding breakfast, things are pretty darn mellow. I was freaking out a little over returning the car, but it only took five minutes to go through security, and they don’t have those full body scanner thingies.

The Expo was beneficial, I got a lot out of it, I wish I could have gone to the whole thing. Since this was my second year, I was more selective about what I wanted to learn, so I wasn’t quite the wide-eyed sponge from the previous year. By the way, have you ever seen a sponge with eyes? I personally haven’t. I propose we ask Nemo for the definitive answer. Well there is of course Sponge Bob Square Pants, but we’re talking reality here. (Right, and I just suggested interrogating Nemo.)

One fun thing was that I got to meet Ariel Hyatt in person! She is the owner of Ariel Publicity and author of “Music Success in Nine Weeks”, which you will know if you go sleuthing around on this blog, I won a 3-month PR campaign by participating in a blog-writing contest.

Once again, she moderated a panel about using social media for fan engagement. It was very useful information. I found out that research indicates that the best times to post to Facebook, send out emails, etc. are 11AM, 3PM, and 8PM. Also, when you send emails at 6AM, it will be sure to show up in the first page of people’s email inbox, (unless one is getting spammed to death). Another tidbit is that anything you post on Facebook or Twitter has about a 30-minute shelf life, so you really can’t over-post status updates because otherwise people just won’t seem them. It makes sense if you think about it. How often do you click on the “Older Posts” link at the bottom of your news feed? It goes against my aversion to annoying people but I’m just going to have to get over it.

I also stopped by the Bandzoogle booth, where they were evaluating people’s websites and giving advice. I had one of the founders of Bandzoogle look at mine and his first reaction was that there was too much information on my home page. It needed less stuff, bigger fonts, more white space, and an obvious focus of the main “call to action” element on the page. My call to action is the email signup widget and do to my tend to be verbose, it got kinda buried on the page. If you’re interested in receiving my newsletter, you can sign up here: http://kellycarpentermusic.fanbridge.com

So the last two days I did another website makeover. The signup widget is clearly displayed, my Passage promo video is right underneath it along with a picture of the Passage Special Edition CD, and I did some menu reorganization. Go check it out at http://kellycarpentermusic.com

Well that’s about it for now. The first picture is of the Renaissance Hotel where the Expo was held in downtown Hollywood. And the picture below is of an auto repair shop that obviously does not want to sell gas. The actual average price of regular in that neck of the woods was anywhere from $4.25 to $4.35 a gallon. Ouch!

Ciao!

Yep, that's $4.85 a gallon.

5 Comments

Filed under Music Career, Music Success in Nine Weeks Blog Challenge

5 responses to “ASCAP Trip Recap

  1. Kelly, you really think that increasing the posting frequency on Facebook is going to increase visibility? I studied and compared between high frequency of posts during two conventions. During the Emerald City Comicon, I posted just about hourly on Facebook through the three day experience. I noticed that the number of impressions received started to drop from an average of 4,700 to 8,000 per post, to average around 2,300 per post. At the next convention, Norwescon, I decided to post once a day on Facebook. This brought the impression count per post back up to well over 5,000 per post. This leads me to believe that regular posting on Facebook should perhaps not exceed once per day. But for Twitter, I believe your theory holds try. Tweet and it evaporates. Keep Tweeting to perhaps get a conversation going. Find trends that relate to your content and use the # to connect with it to draw people into your world. Thanks for sharing what you have been learning. I appreciate it.

  2. Phil… hmmm, very interesting! I wonder if scale is a factor. I get an average of about 80 impressions on my Facebook fan posts. I have found it pretty difficult to get people to “Like” my fan page. I am sure there are a lot of people who would be interested in my fan page if they knew it existed, but sending out invites doesn’t yield much results and there is no place to put a link on the profile page anymore unless it’s a post. So you can see my dilemma. Any suggestions about how to get the count up on a fan page? I am still in the basement when it comes to critical mass.

  3. Funny, I still feel like I’m in the basement. Um, let’s try to discover the magic elixer formula together! My current idea for my page is to get a welcome page going like this: http://www.facebook.com/LVJmovie. So when you land on the page, you get a quick eyewash of what it’s about and an obvious call to action to LIKE it. It has taken us close to three years to break 4k fans on the page. We need to increase that by a factor of 10x and then again by 10x to really be successful. As soon as we are ready to release a real trailer, we are hoping to get our first 10x boost. In your case, I think that engaging people in the cause of creating art together could be a viable way of growing your LIKE numbers. Here’s an idea. Start poking around Vimeo with an eye for the visual artists that appeal to you. Invite them to make a music video using a track from your new album. Post on Facebook details about the new alliance and the creative process to get there and of course the finished video. Keep doing it for all the songs on the album. It may not take long for visual artists to come to you requesting the opportunity to make a video using your music. What I’m trying to pitch is the idea of finding ways to combine your art with others so their fans discover you and new fans are discovered for both. It could even be a contest where visual artists are invited to interpret the same track and the fans get to vote on youtube (counting number of plays during a period of time) as the means to pick a winning video. That’s it. That’s all I have at the moment.

  4. BTW, the resulting output of visual interpretations of your music could be packaged and sold as a DVD and/or Blu-ray. Which is a highly attractive hybrid. People now have big honking flat screens in their homes. I love to have art on flat screens and if its a moving image set to music all the better. Perfect in my mind for how I would want to listen to music and if I’m entertaining guests, it’s a huge visual bonus while the music frames our conversations. In fact, as disk sales diminish in favor of downloads, a visual version of an album for the express reasons described above may be a viable new hybrid product that breathes new life into music disk sales. Can even do a 5.1 mix. Trippy. Now I want to produce it.

Leave a Reply

