Cave

Yes, I’ll be the first to admit I have been rather non-ubiquitous on the social network lately. Truth is I have been holed up in my cave, heads down, nose to the grindstone, pedal to the metal, and other useful figures of speech meant to convey my total immersion in the quest to finish my upcoming album. But, so as to assure many that I have not fallen off the edge of the earth, gone AWOL, flown the coop, and other likewise useful terms referring to my lack of ubiquitousness-ness: here I am coming up for air.

The air here is rather moist given that I live in the Northwest and it is, after all, January. And yes, short of showing a photo of me holding a newspaper with today’s date, we all have to trust (myself included) that I have not been kidnapped or abducted by malevolent aliens intent on performing medical experiments in order to find out the location of my soul. (Have you been watching V? Can’t they think of something more original than that?)

The project is coming along nicely. I have been in weeds, of course, doing what is called “post-production”. This is where little edits and overdubs are performed. There were a few songs where I was so busy preparing the arrangements for the recording session in Canada, that I didn’t get a chance to practice the piano parts I composed for the main parts of the song. So I have been re-tracking these parts at home with my piano, a 6’1″ Fandrich & Sons. This doesn’t sound like a Yamaha C7 (what I played in the studio), nor do I have any of the same recording gear (different mics, different pre-amps, different A-D converters). So, given that all of the variables have changed, it has taken a while to find a reasonable combination of mic positioning and EQ to get the piano to have at least a passing resemblance of the same tonality.

I also have some additional songs to record that are mostly piano. Brian Thiessen has provided me with some additional electric guitar parts, and I have some other surprises in store for the overdubs. I am really enjoying the way this sounds, although I get a bit burned out at times with all the details. That’s what taking breaks are for.

To give you a little preview of what to expect, here are a couple of snippets from my cover of the song “Whom Have I?” which is written by a good friend of mine, David Ruis. Please enjoy!

From kellycarpentermusic on SoundCloud

1 Comment

Filed under Vol. 2 Project

One response to “Cave

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Cave « This Kelly Carpenter -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

