… and so on …

Oy vey! I have been so bad about blogging lately. Perhaps I have “bloggers block”. I really couldn’t think of much to blog about. The thing is, I have been busy sorting through the tracks from my recording session up in Vancouver at the end of September. Oh my gosh! Has it been almost a month?

This will probably be one of my most random and disjointed blog posts. I put a lot of pressure on myself to create meaningful, witty, and truly memorable blog posts..and now especially since I won the Music Success in Nine Weeks Blog Challenge! Perhaps that’s it. I have created such high expectations and now I suffer from performance anxiety.

Right now, however, the only anxiety I am feeling is that my Dad is back in the hospital once again, this time due to a minor stroke. I’m sitting here in the hospital lobby along with my Mom who is catnapping on the couch. Dad is staying over at the hospital for the next two nights while they observe him as part of their stroke response protocol. If you believe in prayer or “positive mental energy” or whatever, please pray.

Back to music for a wee bit… I am sorting through hours of material from the recording session. There is a lot of cool stuff and I am so happy about the music contributions of the band. I am in a bit of dilemma, however…

When I got the gumption to do another recording, I had always visualized it as turning out to be an extension or progression of my last recording. It would be part of the “Songs for the Silence” series. The code name for the project is called “Songs for the Silence Vol. 2”. People like the fact that Vol. 1, “Draw Me Close”, puts them to sleep. (Hopefully not while driving).

The vision of Vol. 2 is to do the same sort of thing, relaxation music, but do it with a band. And we did it. We have some great moments in there. But wait, there’s more. As I prepared for the project, the songs I wrote wound up having more structure and form than just simple stream of consciousness stuff. (You know what I’m talking about if you’ve heard Vol. 1). So we didn’t just create relaxation music.

It started when I was goofing around with a song idea that became what is now called “Summer Rain”. (You can listen to the demo on my BandCamp site here. It was the free song I gave away in August to people who joined my email list.)  “Summer Rain” is not just a stream of consciousness thing, but a song with a real structure. The song in its one-man-band demo form turned out to be really cool, and then once I recorded it with the band, WOW! It starts out just like the demo, a very structured song, but then we jam on the groove for another four minutes, all sorts of cool mellow.

And that’s just the first song. Other songs have blossomed and have taken on a thematic or perhaps even cinematic quality. Songs with names like “Waiting”, “Hope”, “The View From Here”, “Solace”, “More Hope”, “Procession”, and “The Final Journey” (which by its very title means that it has to be the last song). These songs are more than just relaxation music.

The evolution of this project has been very intriguing. I set about to create a certain type of music, essentially a followup to Vol. 1, but yet this other stuff has emerged. Almost like setting sail in a particular direction and yet the wind sends me a completely different direction. As if this has taken on a life of its own. As if I am not in control, control-freak that I am.

Where is the wind taking me? I don’t know. But I do know this will turn out to be a most interesting journey.

Stay tuned…

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Vol. 2 Project

2 responses to “… and so on …

  1. Hey Kelly – as a 40 something guitar teacher I’m finding your story inspiring. This post reminds me of one I did a while back about the Beatles Help album cover

    http://beatlessongwriting.blogspot.com/2010/06/nujv.html

    My conclusion was “Sometimes songs have a mind of their own. They seem to know what they want to be when they grow up. You can help them, but squeezing them into your predetermined mould can end up being a frustrating experience for everyone concerned”.

    • Hi Matt,

      Thanks for your comment. I have been going through a bit of a Beatles phase lately myself. I picked up a book awhile ago titled “100 Best Beatles Songs” and enjoyed it thoroughly. I’ll be visiting your blog. Fun stuff.

      Kelly

Leave a Reply

