5 Days to Go

In my last post, I wrote about how I had recorded my first instrumental record nine years, and how I have been a bit stuck about what “Vol. 2” is going to be like. Then suddenly, inspiration struck this past July while I was playing at a conference in Canada.

I was part of the “house band” and had a great time playing alongside some fun and highly creative chaps: Brian Thiessen (a guitarist who I have known for almost 20 years), Darcy White (a bassist who I have gigged with a few times), and Calum Rees (a drummist who I had gigged with only once before, at a concert in Seoul, Korea).

Clockwise from top-left: Brian Thiessen, Calum Rees, Darcy White, Kelly Carpenter, Scott Burnett
Some photos courtesy of Ron Peters.

After this event, I knew what I wanted to do and how to go about doing it.

As an aside, if you’re from the UK and you play the drums, are you called a “drummist” instead of a “drummer”? I first heard this term when I played at a conference in Germany back in 1993 and a chap who played the drums referred to himself as a “drummist”. Does anyone know? Perhaps now that Calum resides in Canada, this officially makes him a drummer.

Speaking of Canada, that’s where we are making the recording. I think it was Calum who suggested I check out Mushroom Studios in Vancouver, BC. He had done some work there that Brian Thiessen produced. Mushroom is a legendary studio. Heart recorded their first record there. Sarah McLachlan, Loverboy, Queensryche and even the very fab Ringo Starr.

The Mushroom site is now the home of Hipposonic studios which has been upgraded with a whole host of modern equipment, including a brand new SSL console. Oh, did I get geeky there? I’ll stop.

Because we had such a fun time jamming during the conference, I wanted to recreate this type of experience in the studio. So aside from a handful of pre-arranged songs, we are going to spend most of our time jamming on some chord progressions and capturing it all on tape. Well, not tape. We will be using ProTools and capture it on disk. (Oh, the geek has returned.)

Meanwhile, I’m doing a lot of pre-production work to get ready for the recording session. I’ll share a bit about that in my next blog post.

1 Comment

Filed under Music Career, Vol. 2 Project

One response to “5 Days to Go

Leave a Reply

