Monday

I woke up today at 4:30 AM. I’m not a morning person by nature, but lately, I have been waking up pretty darn early. “Why”, you may ask, “not-so-morning-person Kelly, are you waking up so dang early?” You may not have asked this particular question and/or are just blissfully non-curious. That’s okay. It helps me to think of this blogging thing as a two-way conversation, and since I have no idea what you are thinking, I’m just making stuff up, pretending that you are grossly interested in my life and have all sorts of questions for me. For instance, you may wonder “Why do birds suddenly appear every time you are near?” Probably not. But it makes me wonder what inspired Hal David to come up with that line. Perhaps he was hanging out on the back deck of one of his multi-million-dollar mansions and was sitting next to a bird feeder. Can you imagine how freakin’ rich Burt Bacharach and Hal David are? Boggles the imagination, it does.

So back to my grossly interesting story, I wake up at 4:30 AM this very morning with my mind racing due to anxiety. Anxiety as in “how the heck am I going to make a living doing this music thing?” (I mean, this is pretty freakin’ scary if I let the anxiety overtake me.) Yesterday, I was musing about all this out loud to my sweetheart, “Yeah, I have a lot of anxiety and this is going to take a LOT of work, and it’s scary, BUT I wouldn’t trade this for a second to be back on the 27th floor of an office tower, sitting behind a computer, suffering through meetings, and generally despairing of life.”

The byline of this blog is, after all, “A journal about life interrupted and a new coming of age.” Change is HARD. But change is also GOOD. I have been through a very intense few months of change and growth. The blog challenge is just what I needed and I see all the work that I put into it starting to bear fruit. I’ll go into more detail in a subsequent blog post.

I am challenging myself to be less of a perfectionist in my blog posts and try to keep the time I spend on them down to a half an hour. I’m almost there. By the way, I woke up at 4:30 AM to a house with NO COFFEE. So here I am at Starbucks in downtown Woodinville, enjoying a cup of their bold blend. I am so totally addicted to their ham “artisan sandwich”, so I have wolfed one of those down instead of having something healthy like oatmeal. Maybe I’ll have oatmeal for lunch when I’m back at home. (Probably not.)

I don’t know about other parts of the country, but here in the Northwest it’s amazing how many Starbucks you can find per square inch.

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Music Career, Work

4 responses to “Monday

  1. Linda Keeney

    Kelly,

    The more you blog and discover your neighborhood( wine country) the more I see one opportunity leading to another opportunity. I can’t wait to see where your music business is in a year from now.

    Go and listen to someone today,
    Linda K.,

  2. Hahaha, Kelly – thanks for a fun blog post. Now I’m hungry too!

    Yes, this musical path is not for the timid, but the rewards are worth it. You’ve at least taken Ariel’s blog challenge and learned a lot about growing your music business. Now it’s time to go back to the chapters that deal with the areas you want to improve.

    Week 9 is about making money, so feel free to dive deep into that chapter to create results. You can also find an “accountability buddy”, either from the Mastermind group or someone local who has similar goals, and support each other.

    It’s been great having you in the forum, and the challenge, and I wish you all the best in music and life!

    Carla
    (Mastermind moderator & one of Ariel’s judges)

  3. Hey Kelly

    If it makes you feel any better I’m totally freaking most every day how I’m going to make it doing nothing but my music. (and I teach a little) However, I’ve been doing it for the last ten years. Quit my day job and never turned back! I have a house, a family with 2 kids, 2 dogs and a tank full of fish to support, blah, blah, blah…

    I guess you have to trust you’ll survive, do what you love because it’s in our blood to do this and some how at the end of the day, month, year, etc… you make it!

    It’s mind boggling! But I wouldn’t have it any other way…
    I was seriously depressed working the “real job”

    Btw… I laugh every time some one asks… “so what do you really do?”
    or “Is this all you do?” like they don’t get it or believe it

    All the best,
    John G.

    John Gilliat – http://www.johngilliat.com
    Ottmar with a Twist, Passionate and Fiery Rumba Flamenco Guitar

Leave a Reply

