No. 2 Calling

My wife recently bought me this wonderful book: “What’s Your Poo Telling You?” It’s a very humorous yet informative book about your No. 2, specifically about how to assess, from a health perspective, the business you just finished. Here I quote the first paragraph from the Introduction:

Not unlike a snowflake, each bowel movement has a uniqueness that should be regarded with wondrous appreciation. Too often dismissed as useless and malodorous waste, poo has struggled since the dawn of time to receive the respect it deserves.

Perhaps you have read this far and have decided, “Enough with this blog!” If so, you have my empathy and support. On the other hand, if you find this subject to be a limitless supply of fascination and humor, you simply need to get a copy of the book. It catalogues the different types of bowel movements and what they signify in terms of your nutrition and health. Here is a picture of the cover:

Although my wife bought my copy in a store, I looked it up on the internet and found it on places like Amazon and Google. Apparently, the book has been successful, since now there are companion titles such as, “What’s My Pee Telling Me?”, “What’s Your Poo Telling You? 2011 Daily Calendar”, and finally, “Poo Log” which aside from the play on words is probably some sort of journal.

Here is the description of Poo Log: “Finally, what every bathroom has been waiting for the Poo Log, a journal for recording and studying the wondrous uniqueness of each bowel movement. With an extensive glossary, handy reference checklists, interesting nuggets throughout, this journal makes every trip to the can an e-loo-cidating experience. Who knew one could learn so much from poo?” What is somewhat disturbing is that you can get used copies of this book off Amazon Marketplace. I shudder at what the full  implication of “used” entails. Is it like purchasing a used textbook where it may have “marks”? I am tempted to buy a used copy just to get to the bottom of it.

Although I could go on, my hand is still hurting me and I need to get off the computer. So I close with the following question: Is there a difference in meaning between the words “poo” and “poop”? Or do they mean the same thing? Or is former the noun and the latter a verb? I tend to use the term “poop” for either. Perhaps this is a Canada vs. USA thing–the book comes from Canada.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “No. 2 Calling

  1. Mark

    Yeah,

    Poo is the British (and thence Canadian) term. Poop is the good ‘ol American version.

    Mark

  2. Merrilyn

    shit…you crack me up:-) (sorry, couldn’t help it!)

Leave a Reply

