Timing

This has been a crazy year so far. So many changes. I am incapable of believing that all is just random chaos. There has to be a Conductor, Someone who is orchestrating everything. How to reconcile the idea of God in control with the gift of free will is beyond me. Brilliant philosophic minds have been grappling with that one for eons, running the gamut from “there is no such thing as God” to “there is no such thing as free will”. Like most of us, I pick somewhere in the middle. And it’s a big mystery and I’m okay with that.

I could write quite a few blog posts about the crazy events of the past couple of years and reflect on how timing was such a crucial factor. If things didn’t happen when they happened, things would have gone differently. Of course, that’s true about everything. But I am intrigued about the timing of things that have happened to me lately.

Here’s one. Merrilyn and I have been involved with this church just north of Seattle called Vineyard Community Church for the last eight years. I must say that it is one of the coolest churches on the planet. Here is a church that actually puts their money where their mouth is when it comes to helping the poor, addressing injustice, etc. She and I have been involved with leadership to one extent or another for the past three years, primarily in worship leading, coordinating, pastoring.

Yet, by the beginning of this year, it became obvious that I was not the person to take our worship program into its next season. Our time was done. We felt it for many months, but because I don’t like to feel like I’ve let people down, I hung on much longer than I should have. It’s hard for me to let go of things.

Here is where timing comes in. My dad got very sick in March and is still in recovery. I can’t imagine what it would have been like to deal with that crisis and still be responsible for coordinating our worship program at church. I would have had to let it go anyway, but it would have been even more difficult to do so because of the stress I was under. I am relieved that my involvement was over. The timing was right.

I can also see how the timing of the loss of my job at Microsoft (and the end of my IT career) was not coincidental. I couldn’t continue in that line of work because of my hand injury. And obviously I needed to be free to deal with our family situation.

As things start to settle down, I find myself now out of two jobs. But I am now embarking on a new career doing what I truly love to do. It is exciting and scary all at the same time. But I am convinced that the time is now. Timing is everything.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Work

Leave a Reply

