Time

This has been such a surreal time for my family and me. Dad has been in the hospital for the past two and a half weeks. We have been camped out more or less at the hospital during this time. Sometimes I am not sure what day it is.

Mom has been at the hospital almost all the time. Every few days she goes home to take a shower and get a change of clothes. Us three kids, Bill, Kitty, and I take turns keeping her and dad company. It is not easy to get a good night’s sleep in a hospital waiting room. I spent last night trying to get as comfortable as possible on a small sofa.

This is all very strange. Dad has been fighting for his life trying to recover from a routine surgery that went wrong. He seems to be mostly out of the woods, but his progress is slow and halting. He has good days and not so good days. But more accurately, he has good hours and not so good hours. He showed a lot of spunk earlier today but now is exhausted.

I seem to be the type of person who doesn’t freak out but remains calm and steady. But there are moments when I am alone and I allow myself to feel the anger and frustration. Why did this have to happen? If only…

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Time

  1. Mario Casasola

    Hi Kelly, I am just finding out about this, so if this are bad times for getting together dont worry, just want to give you all my support, I will let know Hans about this, so everybody back in CR will pray for this.
    A HUGE hug from my part, and as you said these are times when you could think “if only…” and then I remember one of Chris´s talks about not thinking that but just repeat to yourself: “I know YOU are GOOD, and I TRUST in YOU”. That brought me a lot of healing.
    I will keep you in my prayers!
    Blessings
    Mario (the sound guy in Costa Rica)

Leave a Reply

