Checking In

I haven’t written a blog post lately. Life has been a bit hectic. My dad is fighting for his life in ICU at Harrison Hospital in Bremerton. He went into surgery last Monday to reattach his colon which had to be diverted into an ostomy in November when he had a twisted and obstructed bowel. After three months of recovery it was time for him to get hooked back up, so to speak.

Things seemed to go well earlier last week, but he didn’t start to bounce back in a way we would expect.  Instead, the newly reattached colon burst and dad went into septic shock. He has been in ICU for three days now and it is touch and go whether he is going to recover or not. Your prayers are greatly appreciated. Specifically, his body needs to fight off the infection and his kidneys need to start working. Although he is 86, he is strong and it is obvious that he is fighting hard.

People react differently in times of crisis. I find that I am pretty stoic, I don’t freak out, I look at things fairly objectively, I try to remain positive. I have read that the most effective component in prayer is when the person who is being prayed for knows that people are praying for them. In Dad’s semi-conscious state, we have let him know there are a lot of people praying for him to pull through. So I am just continuing to pray.

When it’s Dad’s time to go, then afterward I will most likely fall apart. Now is not the time. I can’t extend Dad’s life by worrying. This is all in what some call the “God Box”, i.e. it is something that I have absolutely no control over.

Well there. I have eeked out a few thoughts. We’re all hanging here at the hospital, waiting for progress.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

