Ecuador – Part 1

Ah, finally getting to writing about Ecuador. I am one of those people who needs time to process, especially when it comes to writing and having serious conversations with people. Occasionally serious discussions are necessary, and it takes me a while to process in order to prepare for them adequately. If you know me personally, you know that it takes very little thought or processing to have non-serious conversations. I find inane chatter to be quite relaxing and entertaining–from the the sublime to the ridiculous and everything in between.

I never really understood the word “sublime”. I just looked it up. I definitely hang out at the ridiculous end of the spectrum. Like, for sure. Word.

But enough about me. (Who am I kidding? This blog is all about me.)

Ecuador was fun, fulfilling, educational, enlightening…all the things I like about a ministry or missions trip. I am not sure whether to call this trip a “ministry” or a “missions” trip. Perhaps a little of both. When I think of a missions trip, I think of doing things to help people that don’t make use of my gifting, like when we helped kids renovate their school in Acuña, Mexico. I am not very gifted at “handy” work, and I was very thankful that we had someone to show us how to do things.

On the other hand, when I think of a ministry trip, then I am employing my gifts, which are primarily musical and worship music oriented.

However, I am starting to realize that helping people is helping people is helping people, so it’s time to dispense with the terms “ministry” and “mission” and just say that I went to Ecuador to do my thing and help people in whatever way I could, using the gifts that I got. When I help people, I am at my happiest. At one point toward the end of our trip, I asked someone how to say “I’m happy.” To say that in Spanish, you say “estoy feliz”. This makes sense. We are used to hearing Jose Feliciano sing “Feliz Navidad” (or “Happy Christmas”) during the holidays.

I haven’t really told you much about my trip, other than to say that I was happy to do it and I was happy while doing it. I just love doing these sorts of things. Our stay was made particularly enjoyable and comfortable by our hosts, Bennie and Patty Gonzales, along with their cute kids, Ashley (14) and Trinity (8). Bennie Gonzales is the pastor of the young Vineyard church in Quito that he helped start. We stayed in their spacious apartment and I had a room with a view, as in the picture below:

View of Quito from our flat

Much more to write about, but that’s it for now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

