Why “This”?

So I had to name it “This Kelly Carpenter’s Blog”. Because I was late to the party, I was disappointed to find that other Kelly Carpenters had beat me to the punch in getting just their name + blogpost or wordpress or whatever. I was able to use just my name to create a tumblr page, but I’m not really sold on tumblr.

So, to distinguish myself from the other Kelly Carpenters, I am driving a stake in the ground and declaring for one and all that this blog is about this particular Kelly Carpenter.

Oh I suppose I could have called it “That Kelly Carpenter’s Blog”. But it seems rather schizophrenic, don’t you think? As if I am journalling about one of the many voices in my head, as in “I’d like to hear from that Kelly now”. Not that I’m saying I hear voices in my head. Not that I’m saying I don’t. In fact we have nothing more to say about the matter.

And now to the issue of multiple Kelly Carpenters. I’m not referring to the ones in my head, but rather the ones on the planet. It kind of ticks me off that there are so many KC’s out there. I signed up at Desert Sun Tanning the other day and discovered they already had a bunch of Kelly Carpenters in their system. Unconscionable! And incredibly vain on their part. And then there are some famous KC’s: there’s Rosie O’Donnell’s ex, there’s a Broadway actress/singer, and I’m sure there are more. It’s getting quite terrifying; it’s good I have a therapist on retainer.

For quite a long time, I had convinced myself that my name was rather unique. I mean, I took enough crap for it as a kid, I think I’ve earned the right to trademark it. Now, to be fair, I got picked on because I was book smart, pathetically non-athletic (definitely in the klutz category), and wore glasses that were as thick as the Idaho Panhandle…and I had supposedly a girl’s name.

Okay enough about my name… I’m getting self conscious about this getting too narcissistic and I apparently need some deep inner healing, so maybe I should go see my therapist this week.

4 Comments

Filed under Whatever

4 responses to “Why “This”?

  1. Mark

    I think most of the other KC’s are probably female. Anyway, I would have called it THE Kelly Carpenter, personally. You have no idea how many Mark Young’s there are out there. It’s sickening.

  2. Not to many KC’s have two HC’s in their lives>>>>>>>>>>

  3. Joe Z

    Hey, I never made fun of you in grammar school!

    Be thankful your name isn’t Karen…

Leave a Reply

